Council of Queensland Insurance Brokers Awards 2019

The Council of Queensland Insurance Brokers (CQIB) is a professional association that plays a key role in the Australian insurance industry.

Founded in 1980, the CQIB now represents over 60 Queensland firms collectively employing nearly 400 staff and placing in excess of $500,000,000 in annual premiums from over 200,000 clients.

The CQIB plays an active role in educating, inspiring and keeping members up to date and IAGB Managing director Andrew Hinz is the current President of the organisation.

Each year CQIB hosts an annual conference and award gala. IAGB would like to congratulate the 2019 winners including:

The Mick Lambert-Barker Award                   Lisa Hetherington – Zurich

The Claims Service Award                              Allianz

The Domestic Insurance Award                      QBE

The Underwriting Agency Award                   UAA

The Peter McCarthy Young Professional Award    Matt O’Rourke – LEA Insurance Brokers

The Runner Up for the All Rounder Award      Allianz

The All Rounder Award Winner                      QBE

Life Membership was awarded to Keith Nowlan at the 2019 Awards.

QBE Chief Customer Officer – Commercial Lines, Jason Clarke, said winning both the All Rounder of the Year Insurer and the Domestic Insurer award was testament his team’s commitment and hard work.

“Both awards provide fantastic recognition to our Queensland team and are a testament to their unwavering commitment to our customers and broker partners. Notably, this is the second consecutive year the team have taken home the prestigious All Rounder award, making the win even more significant for us.

“Congratulations to our Queensland Head of Sales & Relationship Management Craig Mauger and the entire team on this outstanding achievement.

“Thanks and credit must also go to our CQIB broker partners for this acknowledgement and their ongoing support, hard work and loyalty.”

The CQIB awards are awarded based on a voting system, with the majority of brokers in the CQIB network participating in the process.


CQIB Awards 2016 – IAGB Gerald Lodewick wins Young Professional of the Year

The Council of Queensland Insurance Brokers (CQIB) held its annual awards ceremony on Queensland Day. One of the 6 awards presented was The CQIB Young Professional of the Year. It’s a prestigious award and notably admired within the Industry. The awards drew almost 400 members and business partners from all over the State.

The winner of the 2016 CQIB Young Professional of the Year was one of our very own brokers, Gerald Lodewick. He has been heavily involved in the CQIB Young Professionals for the past 4 years and he has been noticeably donating a lot of his time to encouraging young people to enter the insurance industry. Also offering outstanding commitment and service to our brokerage, clients and to the insurance industry.

Gerald received a full delegate registration to the 2016 CQIB Convention which is taking place this week and a perpetual trophy along with $1,000.

Insurance Aid General Brokers couldn’t be more proud of Gerald and want congratulate all of those that were nominated and took out and award.


All CQIB members are insurance professionals who are licensed by the Australian Securities and Investment Commission after extensive accreditation procedures.